St. James Church Bermuda
This beautiful Anglican church stands on a high ground on Somerset Road in Sandy's Bermuda. It overlooks the ocean. With its picturesque settings, a view of the sunset from here can be an experience of a life time. However, the original wooden church was destroyed by a hurricane in 1780.
After nine years in 1789, this church was rebuilt using mostly Bermuda limestone. Its beautiful iron gates were designed and erected by the engineers from the Royal Naval Dockyard
In 1880, the spire was added which was created by Henry Hinson, who was a local person having designed and created many spires in other churches in Bermuda. But the church repeatedly came under harsh severity of the nature. In 1939, it was struck by a lightning and the spire was completely destroyed.
The spire that you see today is an honest replica built by the local architect Will Onions. Another unique feature of St. James church is the altar, which faces west instead of the customary east. Navy officers stationed in Royal Naval Dockyard used to regularly attend the church until the Royal Navy closed its operations in 1995. The church is open from dawn to dusk. There is no admission fee.
St. James church Bermuda
Location and contacts
Address: 90 Somerset Road, Sandy's Parish, Bermuda. Phone: 441/234-0834; Bus routes: #7 and 8 operating between Hamilton and Dockyard come close.
Raj is an avid traveler, a travel journalist and a blogger. As an author of this website, he shares deep insights on Bermuda and related areas of interest. Since years, he has been helping countless viewers by posting quality articles, answering questions and sharing experiences on this website. Launched in 2008, this website is Bermuda's one of the leading sources of information since many years.
1) Check out Bermuda Churches
to know about the other great churches in Bermuda.
2) Check out Sandys Bermuda
to find many other attractions in Sandys Parish Bermuda.
Visitors' Reviews and Comments
Share your experience.